• Hey Trainers! Be sure to check out Corsola Beach, our newest section on the forums, in partnership with our friends at Corsola Cove! At the Beach, you can discuss the competitive side of the games, post your favorite Pokemon memes, and connect with other Pokemon creators!
  • Due to the recent changes with Twitter's API, it is no longer possible for Bulbagarden forum users to login via their Twitter account. If you signed up to Bulbagarden via Twitter and do not have another way to login, please contact us here with your Twitter username so that we can get you sorted.

A "Wow, I should have figured that out a lot sooner" thread

Minto

Well-Envowled
Reaction score
Posting in the first Pokémon game thread made me think back when my Yellow version was brand-spanking-new and I was a newbie to the franchise. I was so stupid back then!

In the first place, I couldn't figure out how to get out of the house. It wasn't like they made it obvious or anything, but my eight-year-old self felt like an idiot when I finally figured it out (after ten minutes).

A second, much lengthier stupid thing I did was get stuck in Viridian Forest for weeks. Pikachu made it to level 81 in there because I was in there for so long (I didn't bother training anyone else, I guess). I had absolutely no idea how to get out at all. I thought the exit was just a dead end and when I finally pressed against it, I was shocked. Happy, but shocked.

Anyway, share your own dumb experiences so we can all have a laugh. I can't be the only one this happened to!

A second, much lengthier stupid thing I did was get stuck in Viridian Forest for weeks. Pikachu made it to level 81 in there because I was in there for so long (I didn't bother training anyone else, I guess).

Are you serious? You'd have to defeat about a thousand Pokemon to get that high of a level. I bet the rest of the game was really easy, though.